• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Feeling sad about guinea pig’s arthritis

wheekly

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I’m feeling a little down about my guinea pig today.

I posted about her a little bit ago. She is 7 years old (which I’m very proud of — I adopted her in 2016 when she was about 4 months old). She has never had an issue other than the recent onset of arthritis. Before that, she’s never had to go on medicine for anything!

I got her at the end of 8th grade. So I had her my entire high school career (9th, 10th, 11th, 12th) and the entirety of college (I’m now a fourth year student). It’s insane to think about the fact that she’s been with me throughout so many huge changes in my life :)

She started on dog metacam a little over a month ago, at a dose of 0.6 mL twice a day (she is approximately 2.1 pounds consistently when she gets weighed) hence the higher dose. My vet says that her maximum safe dose for her weight would be 0.95 mL.

It has made a difference for sure. Before she started on the medicine, she was falling over and was noticeably wobbly. It has helped a lot with her quality of life.

I’m just feeling a bit down today because she started wobbling again yesterday, and today she improved and then it got bad again to the point where she was basically laying on her leg. My vet had advised me to give her 0.75 mL in the event that I felt it was absolutely necessary - so I did, because she was clearly in a lot of pain.

Now, it’s just a waiting game of seeing how she responds to the 0.75 mL dosage and then consulting my vet again.