Fear Of Being Bit

Anon123

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
so I post on here to get advice on my Gilligan, and I have a fear of being bitten since he bit me once. He hasn't done it since and he and I have a pretty good relationship, I am really new to this guinea pig thing and I am just wanting to know if there is any way I can get over that because he is very curious and he always comes near my hands when it's cuddle time with his head stretched out and wants to nibble my fingers and I don't want to be bitten... any veteran advice?

There is a section on the guinea pig guides at the top of the page about biting. Sorry I can't link it in at the mo as I on my phone. Have a look at that. I can't remember off hand which guide it's under. Just have a flick through and I'm sure you'll find it!

It is normal to be anxious after you have been bitten.
We also have a guinea pig who bites so I understand what it is like.

But if you have only been bitten once, chances are it was not typical of him - maybe your hands smelt like food?

Here is the Forum guide to biting written by a very experienced guinea pig owner.
Hopefully this will help.

" Biting" And What You Can Do

It is normal to be anxious after you have been bitten.
We also have a guinea pig who bites so I understand what it is like.

But if you have only been bitten once, chances are it was not typical of him - maybe your hands smelt like food?

Here is the Forum guide to biting written by a very experienced guinea pig owner.
Hopefully this will help.

" Biting" And What You Can Do

Thanks @Swissgreys that was the thread I meant! You are a complete STAR :yahoo:

Both my boys can be a bit nibbly..the older one during lap time when he needs the loo.

The little one I am putting down to the fact his a baby.

I've had piggies 8 years and you learn something new everyday..that link was really helpful!