cashewandpeppa

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Quality of hay is BY FAR the most important thing to me for my girls.

I'm looking for a premium hay to order online that doesn't have a ton of dust at the bottom of the bag/box. I'd order from dustfreehay.co.uk if I was in the UK, but I'm in Chicago, IL.
And their hay is American-grown, so I'm upset I can't order it!

I have a subscription from Small Pet Select for 2 lbs of 1st cut Timothy coming in every few weeks (so I don't have massive amounts ever sitting around taking up space). However, this hay is fantastic at the beginning and dusty/tiny toward the end. My two girls are highly sensitive to dust and sneeze a lot when hay gets dusty.

What are your dust-free hay recommendations? And is the hay super fresh and green?

I don't know any store in America that sells hay. But have you tried Oxbow brand? We always buy the Oxbow Hay Blends (which is a mixture or orchard and timothy hay). They do sell separate bags of timothy hay too. It's a bit expensive coz it's grown in the US though.

I don't know any store in America that sells hay. But have you tried Oxbow brand? We always buy the Oxbow Hay Blends (which is a mixture or orchard and timothy hay). They do sell separate bags of timothy hay too. It's a bit expensive coz it's grown in the US though.
I've tried this and have a bag of Timothy/orchard mix on hand. I feel like it's mostly orchard hay and very, very little Timothy though. My girls love Timothy most and seed heads are their favorite!

For my piggy bosses Finn and Lara, I order Oxbow hay bags and I find them to have least amount of dust. I never allow their Oxbow hay to run out. Below are two kinds I typically always have around.

Oxbow Hay Blends 2.55 kg (90oz) and Oxbow Western Timothy Hay 9 lb (4.09 kg)

IMG_5387 (1).jpg

IMG_5389.jpg
IMG_5386.jpg

For variety sake, I also order different types of Oxbow hay for my piggy bosses.

Oxbow Orchard Grass Hay to give them some variety.