Don't Judge Me

Status
Not open for further replies.

jessblacow

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hello.

This is not a decision I have taken lightly but enough is enough.

I am new to piggies and rehomed 4 pigs 3 wks ago from a shop that had taken them in from elsewhere and not allowed to sell them. I was told they were all girls.

They didn't seem to get on and one was being bullied by the other.

I found out 2 days ago that three are in fact boys, one is female and she is pregnant and not far off birth.

I noticed today they are all excessively scratching and think they have mites.

I did an extensive amount of research about piggies and to find out whether I would have time to commit as a working mum with 2 little girls.

I tried to do a good thing by taking these pigs in because they were in small cages, never been handled etc and I wss told they were about a year old but we think they are not that old.

However, I did not expect to have to deal with pregnant female, fighting pigs and a mite infestation. I don't see why I should have to fork out for vet bills for guinea pigs that were so obviously badly looked after. I am not a rescue centre. I do feel bad but this is not my fault.

I don't want to be judged because I feel awful as it is but I am going to contact the shop tomorrow and see what they say before asking to return them.

It's understandable, no-one on here will judge, in fact a large number will probably be thinking, "There but for the grace of God, go I" no-one can judge unless they've been in the same predicament. You took them piggies on the understanding they were all girls, any one of us would've done the same, it's not your fault they were wrongly sexed and infested. The shop should at least pay for treatment for the mites.

Oh gosh - I can see why you are concerned and fully understand why you want to speak to the pet shop. Nobody on this forum will judge you but I am sure a few of us will want to advise you .