Conflicting bonding methods? Which to use?

Freya1234

Teenage Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hi everyone!
Unfortunately we lost Smudge a few weeks ago and so now Smokey (6 years) is getting a new friend. We’ve found him one who we’re hoping to pick-up from the rescue in the next few weeks. The new boy is 10 months and neutered and had to be seperated from his brother as they fought so I’m very nervous for the bonding because I really want them to get along!
This will be my first time bonding piggies I have read the very useful guides here but have also got some information from the rescue and they recommend keeping them side by side for a few days first so they get used to each other’s scent before properly bonding them in the neutral space, is this a good idea? They also suggested scent swapping with fleece items?
I just want to find out everyone’s opinions and recommendations since I’m a bonding novice and want to help them to bond as much as possible, I obviously understand if they don’t get a long there’s not much I can do but my worst fear is having to return the new piggie because the bonding has failed.
Added a Smokey picture because who doesn’t love a piggie pic!😊

Attachments

• IMG_6853.webp
    IMG_6853.webp
    65 KB · Views: 3
I’m sorry for your loss.

Keeping them side by side for a few days and then doing the neutral territory bonding is absolutely fine. It gives them chance to get to know each other (although it doesn’t tell you whether they will actually get on), and for the new piggy to settle a bit before bonding.
Scent swapping may not be beneficial and does not have to be done.

Bonding and Interaction: Illustrated social behaviours and bonding dynamics

Hi everyone!