Cleaning The Grease Gland And Sac?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gk45

New Born Pup
Reaction score
I am new to the cavy world and just watched a youtube video about cleaning grease glands and anal sacs. Interesting to say the least! lol I was wondering...are there differences between female cavies and male cavies regarding what needs daily/weekly/monthly cleaning? I'm still learning. Thanks!

The main difference is boar bits and impaction issues that you can get in boys..

With females their is no worry on impaction or problems with the piggies boy bits. Two of our girls have had very greasy grease glands however so they still need the occasional bum baff.

I also watched a couple videos on cleaning the boy parts. I understand this only has to be done on an adult guinea pig? Is this correct?

I think the older they are the more chance of impaction. And yes its very smelly indeed when cleaning them!

There is a clip on You Tube showing someone cleaning a guinea pig's anal sac using cotton buds which is a bit extreme. Anal sacs only need cleaning if your boar is developing problems with impaction. Some guinea pigs may need cleaning to the extent shown in the video clip I mention but this is only if you have a problematic boar. Personally, I would not do this unless I have been shown by someone guinea savvy.

It is a good idea to clean a boar's penis every now an then but , again. I struggle doing this with my boar , Max, but I am lucky that I have a very good rescue within travelling distance who help me out.

I will tag @Wiebke as she is one of the forum's health gurus.

Impaction is a condition that happens to mostly older boars when the muscles in the anus weaken don't push enough; by far not all older boars will get it!