Can't Adopt

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nerdychild7

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hello I'm brand new to the world of guinea pigs and I though I would check out this forum. Okay I have checked every shelter in 100 miles of me none of them do guinea pig adoptions. I would really like a guinea pig I already have a c&c I think they are called cage it's huge and I'm ready to get them but I don't know anywhere that has guinea pigs plus I want to get two my question is is it okay to buy from a petshop if there is no adoption centers around please comment back

I have 8 piggies, and 2 are from a pet shop, the reason why i have 8 now is because the 2 i got from the pet shop were both pregnant and i never thought that would happen to me, but they keep males and females in the same cage (guaranteed pregnancy) at least where i got them. in a way i feel like getting pets from a pet store is rescuing because they are alive and in need too and they are treated awful and probably in poor health . but giving them money is also supporting what they do so it's a tough call. after that i looked on craiglist and found the most adorable piggies i couldn't resist i would look on craigslist or petfinder

also don't just adopt one guinea pig because they are very social and would be very sad if kept alone . hope i helped

:wel:to the forum...

If you could add your location to your profile, then there may be a fellow member who can recommend a rescue nearer you.. :nod:

:wel: to the forum

I am really pleased to hear that you would prefer to adopt a guinea pig and am sorry to hear this isn't running smoothly.

If you are happy to give us an idea of where you live, this will help with our advice.

personally, I would avoid getting your guinea pigs from a pet shop as this just perpetuates the cycle of them being replaced by more guinea pigs.