• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Can guinea pigs lose their squeaks?

Kayleighmcmx

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hello, this is my first time posting on forum, I’m wanting to attach a video of my issue below but am unsure how to. I have attached the link to my Facebook post so I hope that works. https://m.facebook.com/story.php?id=915710252125833&story_fbid=2184990641864448

Has anyone had a Guinea pig who wheeks but nothing comes out?

My wee Bonnie is a loud squeaker and she was wheeking 2 days ago fine but now she sounds kind of hoarse, nothing is coming out when she’s squeaking.

Everything is completely normal with her so it’s definitely not a URI. I put in fresh Timothy hay could that be the culprit and it’s too dusty?

She’s on fleece not wood shavings/pine. She gets fresh hay, food, water and veggies everyday.

This is completely out the blue. I’ve asked on Facebook and some people have said they have had older piggies who lost their squeak. She’s only 3 so I wouldn’t consider her that old.

Could it be that she has a sore throat?

I’ve just spent over £1000 on my boar for surgery and he sadly didn’t make it so I can’t afford to take her to the vets for another week or so. I’ve had a listen to her chest with the stethoscope and it sounds clear, all her behaviour is exactly the same bar the quiet squeaking.

Hello, this is my first time posting on forum, I’m wanting to attach a video of my issue below but am unsure how to. I have attached the link to my Facebook post so I hope that works. https://m.facebook.com/story.php?id=915710252125833&story_fbid=2184990641864448

Has anyone had a Guinea pig who wheeks but nothing comes out?