Cage Size for 2 separate boars.

piggl

Forum Donator 2024/25
Reaction score
Hi all, I was wondering if anyone could tell me a good size of c&c for two separate boars.
I have read the sizing guide but i’m not 100% sure how to go about it.

One of my boars (5 years old) has had some back pain recently but after a vet appointment with minimal sign of arthritis, she believe most of the pain is due to his wee friend (4 months) being quite consistent with the humping and dominance routine, so I have made the decision to separate them.

I have only ever owned pigs outdoors, so i’m a complete newby to all the c&c stuff. Could anyone recommend a brand or something if you have a favourite one? Alongside the sizing for a separate boar.
I already use bath mats as bedding so i’m hoping the overall cost won’t be too much as I don’t have a job right now.

Would it be best to lift it off the floor? Or does it not really matter.

Any advice/tips on anything c&c is greatly appreciated, thanks.

Being off the floor doesn’t matter. That’s personal preference. It is more expensive to do so as you will need more grids.

The minimum size for a single is a 3x2 but a 4x2 each is the recommended size.

Are you planning on getting a kit with everything you need or doing it DIY and sourcing grids, correx etc separately?

You can buy a kit from somewhere like cancguineapigcages. I’ve used this company - they are very good

Who else occupies your floor? I have mine on a double stand because we have a dog, cat, and toddler around and it's much safer to have it raised, and as a bonus we have storage space underneath! If you have other animals in the house it's also worth making a lid for protection, especially if they're on the floor. Having a cage at a comfortable height for cleaning can also be a boon.