C&C Cage or hutch in shed?

stickytoffee

New Born Pup
Reaction score
I'm a newbie owner and looking to set up a piggy house in an unused Summer house. It's sheltered with natural light and plenty of space but it's an awkward shape - octagonal. I was originally thinking of having a hutch and C&C cage combo but there isn't enough room. If I just went for C&C cage, could I get a wooden guinea pig house to sit inside this and would that be enough to keep them warm?

This is it - it will be cleared of stuff.

Attachments

• 20240929_155833.webp
    20240929_155833.webp
    100.5 KB · Views: 1
  • 20240929_155912.webp
    20240929_155912.webp
    68 KB · Views: 1
Hello I don’t really have any advice as my piggies live indoors but lots of members on here will have experience and the advice you need. Probably insulating the summer house would first .
Good luck !

My piggies live in my purpose built shed. It has stable doors as well as internal mesh doors so that the main doors can still be left open and they are still protected inside.
The shed is insulated.

One big question - is your shed able to be heated?

My shed is not heated.
Originally they were in hutches within the shed. This worked very well as the hutches were also insulated as well as having blankets and thermal covers on them.
Hutches were fully filled with hay and they had snugglesafe heat pads (a must for outdoor piggies)

Various circumstances mean they are now in c&c cages and I’ll be honest, I’m not keen as it is harder to keep warm than a hutch but needs must.
In readiness for winter, I have wrapped the cages with silver foil insulation and they will have more insulation and blankets laid over the top overnight. The whole cage is still filled with hay along with all hides being filled with hay. They will still have their snugglesafes (I use four snugglesafes per pair of piggies).

If you shed can be heated then that helps make it a bit easier with them being in a c&c.