• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Broken Teeth

Status
Not open for further replies.

Niki

Senior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Looby's come flying out of her hutch, hit the floor face first & has snapped both top front teeth off near the gum & split her lip. I've bathed her lip in salt water & given her 0.2ml of Baytril, should i take her to the vet or do i leave her & keep an eye on her?

I've no experience of broken teeth

What a silly madam! :D ;D

Niki you will have to syringe feed her whilst they grow back in and possibly have the bottom 2 trimmed if they start to grow up quickly. As long the break is fairly clean, they should come back ok, within a week to 10 days you'll never know she'd done it! If you think she's in any discomfort, bonjela for babies will help soothe her mouth around feeding times.

Keep bathing the lip, I shouldn't think she'll need abx unless it gets infected.

Good Luck! O0

Beks said:
What a silly madam! :D ;D

Niki you will have to syringe feed her whilst they grow back in and possibly have the bottom 2 trimmed if they start to grow up quickly. As long the break is fairly clean, they should come back ok, within a week to 10 days you'll never know she'd done it! If you think she's in any discomfort, bonjela for babies will help soothe her mouth around feeding times.

Keep bathing the lip, I shouldn't think she'll need abx unless it gets infected.

Good Luck! O0

Thank you Beks O0
She is a loon, i'd only just put her back after clipping her nails & obviously she ran the wrong way ::)
Blimey they grow quick don't they :o

Blimey they grow quick don't they :o

They do yeah, sometimes you wouldn't even notice they'd done it! ;D