brittanystone27

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I’m new to Guinea pigs but I’ve done EXTENSIVE research on them. I have a 7 month old & a 4 month old, both males. I had the oldest first and got him a friend. My problem is the bonding. So I put them in a neutral area with lots of hay. Lots of snacks. There has been ZERO attacks/fights . Introduced them MULTIPLE TIMES. The rumblestrutz <-(can’t remember how to spell it & don’t feel like looking it up lol) NEVER ends. Like , the youngest has shown submission the whole time. He hides, pees on the oldest, hides, gets humped. The whole time. Is this still good? It’s been like two months now. I can tell the younger one gets stressed because he starts trying to hide and run away and the oldest just keeps chasing. I just don’t get it. Pancake (youngest) has shown you can be the boss Reese (oldest) , why are we STILL keeping this up? Can I put them in the same cage now since there is never any kind of fight? Reese & pancake will wheek back & forth to each other, they cuddle on each others scents (I’ll take something from each of them & put it in each others cages). As you can tell yes , I am getting impatient. But not to/with them. Because it is a process. So I’m here, venting to some experts while I give them a pet and some yummy snacks. I’m just confused. They act like they like each other & then all of a sudden after being humped for the 13th time pancake starts running away and Reese follows and its a lot of spraying pee and it just doesn’t stop until I separate them. Idk . Please don’t be mean , I’m just at a loss and I can’t find any research for my specific question. Technically if I go by what all I’ve read, then they aren’t bonded but technically I could put them together in the same cage since they don’t fight. But I feel like ripping the bandaid like that will cause stress that will cause fighting. Some guidance would be appreciated so much 💙

Welcome to the forum