Bonding a sow and boar .... What's success?

spannerCole

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi all,
Firstly this is my first time in a forum, everything I have learnt about Guinea pigs has been YouTube or Google searches, but I need more specific answers to my questions so I am hoping someone here will put my mind at rest.

I started with two boars, Bob and Bubbles. I got them as babies and 2 years later they started fighting, eventually it got so bad that blood was drawn and I had to separate them. At the time I only had room for 1 cage so my mum offered to house the other. It took a year but I finally got both back with me in big cages and my plan is to neuter and bond both boys with sows. The first one was done last month and during his recovery I was asked by my vets nurse if I would take her sow that was alone (after loosing her friend) and I agreed.
I made a large bonding area with everything fresh and started the bonding. There was humping/rumbling/head butting and teeth chattering but no full fights or blood drawn and eventually they were eating and resting fine. So I washed down the cage with white vinegar and cleaned everything thoroughly I purchased new houses and toys and put them in the cage together. However I now feel my boar is starting to bully the sow. He rumble struts and mounts her constantly, she is submissive and lets him do it but then she has enough and head buts him. Sometimes they are completely calm but other times I feel like I need to stand over the cage with a towel especially when I hear them both teeth chattering!