Bonding a Neutered Male and Female

buckingpigs

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi everybody,
I’ve been checking out this forum for advice for the past 2 years ever since I got my first guinea pig, Wilbur. Unfortunately, on the 22nd, and on my 20th birthday too, my sweet girl had to be put down after suffering from what I believe was a stroke, neither the vet and I were really sure what happened. I had her paired with her daughter (I don’t breed pigs but was told she was a male and the rest is history), but of course now she is alone. However, I also had a male who was separated from his group pretty recently because of aggression issues once I moved them into a new cage since I moved houses. The cage is double-tiered and I suspect he could probably smell the girls, though my boys haven’t had any issues with aggression since I took him out so I’m not sure. My group of 3 were together for an entire year and a half before he started fighting with them and it happened right when I moved. He’s in a midwest cage alone right now. I was thinking of getting him neutered to pair with my girl, but to be honest I haven’t heard much of just a single male and female rather than a herd. And if personality has anything to do with it, Piglet (my male) is usually laid back aside from when he was picking fights, and Momo is a timid pig, but always loved to be around her mom and would run to her if she ever got scared, so I’m not sure she has much of an issue with other pigs. I’d love to hear some advice or experience with these pairs before I call up any vets. Thank you!

Welcome and I’m sorry for your loss.

To clarify, you had a pair of sows in one cage, and a trio of boars in another cage?

A neutered boar can live with any number of sows. There are plenty who have a neutered boar/sow pair, and yes, while many sows can be kept with one neutered boar, a pair is a very common way to keep piggies. Space prohibitions beyond keeping two is often a major factor in that.