Boars

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ste

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hi I currently have 3 boys, 2 brothers approx 10 weeks old and another boy approx 16 weeks old, the older boy was long haired but is now short haired, looks like his hair has been chewed, they all seem ok together, but I'm wandering should I separate the older boy and get another boy and have two pairs rather than a trio, I'm new to owning Guinea pigs, so appreciate any advice, thanks

Hi I currently have 3 boys, 2 brothers approx 10 weeks old and another boy approx 16 weeks old, the older boy was long haired but is now short haired, looks like his hair has been chewed, they all seem ok together, but I'm wandering should I separate the older boy and get another boy and have two pairs rather than a trio, I'm new to owning Guinea pigs, so appreciate any advice, thanks

Hi and welcome

The hair nibbling is called barbering. Please take the time to read this guide here to work out what is going on. My guess is that it is just social barbering and nothing to worry about. Long-haired piggies in groups are rather prone to getting a haircut.
Barbering ( Eating Hair)

Generally, the vast majority of baby boar trios will not make through the hormonal teenage months without a separation at some stage, unless you have got three very laid back boys. Your older boy is just about on the cup of his testicles starting to descend. However, I would recommend to wait until it becomes necessary before you split one of the boys so you have a much higher chance of ending with a stable couple. You are very likely to end up with either one boy waging war on the other two, or two boys ganging up on the third (bullying). What you do next, depends on the nature of your split boy and your local options.
Boars: A guide to successful companionship.
Boars: Bullying, Fighting, Fall-outs And What Next?