Boars: Dominance or Bullying?

The Lorax

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hello All,

I'm a newbie here and could use your help. First, the back story: a year ago, my family adopted four boars from a rescue center, which (I know now from reading this forum is a NO), and also they did not give me any useful information, at all, about anything. Since then, I've tried to read all I can and my family loves these piggies as best we can. They were about 4 months old when we adopted them and are now about 15 and a half months. At the time we adopted them, I didn't know the difference between dominance and bullying, and one piggy was being terrorized. Blood was drawn and I didn't know how serious this was. I thought him jumping up on high places was just him being acrobatic. I didn't know that all the noise they made running around after him was not just guinea pigs being guinea pigs. I read a lot of information but was clearly in the wrong places. A few days before New Year's Day this year, this one piggy was clearly not doing well. We took him to urgent care, where the vet told us that he'd been terrorized -- bitten so much and probably had pneumonia because his immune system was so stressed. He died on New Year's Day morning after receiving oxygen and being syringe fed. I assure you, I have been gutted by this whole experience and cannot believe that this little creature under my care was so horribly mistreated. I found out too late the extremely hard way and even as I write this, am crying.