Boar Cleaning - For or not ?

piggl

Forum Donator 2024/25
Reaction score
Today was my first time doing my boars anal sack and penis cleaning. It all seemed fine until later when digby my 9 month old got very hormonal and started non stop humping and chasing winston 4 months. They have had to be separated because they started constant fighting (without blood just squaring up and circling and nipping) and in the morning i feared blood or death so i spilt their cage. They can still see and hear each other but i’ve realised my pigs might not become friends when i try to reintroduce them. I understand why someone would clean out that area for their heath and wellbeing but my mother had a guinea pig for 5 years without doing it and it was fine. I’m not saying i’m going to stop doing it but i was wondering if it would endanger them to stop doing it once a month or maybe if i could just check every month or so for impaction or build up. Any reply welcome xx

I’ve no experience with impaction, but I don’t think they are likely to get it at their age. It’s more later on when the muscles aren’t as...tight as they used to be. Were they really that grubby?

Another thing you have to consider is the fact they’re in their teenage months, so a little dominance behaviour or reassertion of hierarchy is very likely.

Just make sure when you re-introduce that you do it on neutral ground, then thoroughly clean out the cage.

I’ve no experience with impaction, but I don’t think they are likely to get it at their age. It’s more later on when the muscles aren’t as...tight as they used to be. Were they really that grubby?

Another thing you have to consider is the fact they’re in their teenage months, so a little dominance behaviour or reassertion of hierarchy is very likely.

Just make sure when you re-introduce that you do it on neutral ground, then thoroughly clean out the cage.