• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Big yellow tooth!

Melxava

New Born Pup
Reaction score
My guinea pig Kevin is 5yrs 6months. He has never suffered tooth problems until recently. I noticed one of his top teeth had broken a few weeks back, and it has now grown really thick, crooked and yellow. Kevin has a vet appointment on Wednesday regarding this. He is eating and drinking normally and doesn’t appear to be in any discomfort. However I have no experience with this, has anyone seen anything like this before and what was the outcome? Sorry for the bad photo. Kevin does have 2 skin tags below his nose / on his lip fold, which the vet has previously checked over and confirmed they are just fleshy lesions!

Attachments

• IMG_6266.webp
    IMG_6266.webp
    26.6 KB · Views: 5
It's a good thing you have got a vet appointment soon. The vet will take away the uneven edges. Maybe your boy will need a bit of help in the first days afterwards. If he can't eat veggies by himself, you need to cut them into stripes. Eating hay isn't a problem for most piggies, but you might need to step in with syringe feeding if he struggles too much at first.
With a little luck, the teeth will grow back in the right way and Kevin won't have any further troubles. But you should check his teeth regularly.
Good luck at the vet's!

It's a good thing you have got a vet appointment soon. The vet will take away the uneven edges. Maybe your boy will need a bit of help in the first days afterwards. If he can't eat veggies by himself, you need to cut them into stripes. Eating hay isn't a problem for most piggies, but you might need to step in with syringe feeding if he struggles too much at first.