Big Pig!

Status
Not open for further replies.

George and Max

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hello all, I'm Danni, long time lurker first time poster!
I have two young boys George and Max who are about to turn 4 months old.
Out of interest I weighed them yesterday and was quite shocked. Max is already 916g :yikes: is that not abnormally large? I was under the impression that 1kg was average adult size?
Panicking a bit. They get a handful of nuggets between them twice a day, salad at lunchtime and unlimited Timothy hay.
Please reassure me I don't have a monster pig. Thinking of cutting the nugget ration slightly?

IMG_20170104_070509.webp

Hi Danni! On my goodness your piggie Max is so handsome! I am fairly new to piggies so I can't really offer much advice about size but what you are feeding sounds right to me. We have two sows who are now 9 months old and weigh about 1000g. I do think they have periods where they grow more rapidly, I definitely noticed that with our two. Max looks very healthy - and regal - in that picture!

Beautiful piggy- better hair then me!! Now some breeds are relatively larger then others though- yours appears to be a Peruvian- aren't usually big,big. Teddies,agoutis,rexes and some Americans are usually large.
I feed my agouti mix his muesli in the morning and then at night because I half his amount of food. He has hay constantly and a cup of veges in the morning and again at night so you don't seem to be overfeeding. Does he get time outside and a time to free roam? A bigger pig isnt necessarily a bad thing- my boar was weighed by the vet and she said he wasn't obese but a little bigger then most of the pigs she's seen- he's a big boy :) so I wouldn't worry too much. How much bigger is he compared to your other piggy?

20160819_140639.webp

20160615_180138.webp