Bath mats as bedding?

SavyCavyGirl

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hi! So I have two guinea pigs, who I love to spoil. They live in a cage that is currently about 13 sq feet (not counting the loft that is about 4.5 square feet). I think I’m going to move soon where I will hopefully have more room for a bigger cage, so I can maybe get another piggy. Currently I use Guinea dad liners for my cage, but they’re hard to wash and kind of expensive. The size cage I would want would require a lot of them, and I was wondering if using bath mats instead could work? I was thinking something like the picture. I might sew towels underneath them so they are more absorbent if this is possible.F4738AAA-033A-4A19-A1B4-0F96E8026BFF.webp

The only thing I can say about this is...….I've seen knowledgeable guinea pig owners using it as a liner so it must be fine. But, I'm not very experienced with that kind of thing.

Yes they are fine, but I would not sew towels to them. You would be better off laying them on top of puppy pads. Towels don’t always dry properly and can smell quickly.

I would say you’ll need three lots. Could you have fleece with some puppy pads underneath and then use the bath mats on top? I’m just thinking they may not last a full week before you want to change them.

When mine were indoors, I used a fleece liner with bath mats on top. Some of them needed changing every 2-3 days.

If you have flat yard space, you could even keep them on the grass, like I do. Guinea pigs LOVE being on the grass, and grass is great for their gut health.
In fact, that's why you always need to provide guinea pigs hay, because in the wild they are meant to live on the grass. Of coarse you still clean the poos up from the grass, but the wee fertilizes the grass and goes into the ground. 🌱

Guessing you're not UK @Natalie Clancy :)) There are very few days here where the grass is dry. Even on fine days, there is often a heavy dew on the grass all morning.