Advice on mixed bonding please

Reevesey973

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi I’m a new piggie owner. My first piggies were 2 rescue sows, sadly 1 died. I contacted the rescue for a companion for the 1 sow I still had and there was a neutered boar still in post op 6 week quarantine. He came to our house and midnight (sow 1 1/2yrs) and jasper (boar 3 yrs) have been living side by side for about 4 weeks. during this time they seemed to show a lot of friendly interest in each other. Jasper is also bereaved, his companion was a boar. So i have 2 bereaved piggies, both previously in single sex relationships now in mixed pair.

Obviously Jasper is DESPERATE to hump Midnight 😆 but unfortunately she will have none of it. I’m a novice here but Jasper seems very laid back to me (other than the testosterone) and Midnight seems very fear aggressive.

I have read all the guides on here at least 10 times but would appreciate your thoughts Please.

they were introduced at 4pm yesterday, at first there was a lot of attempts to hump and midnight was very aggressive - kicking, nipping and lunging. Jasper would retreat but soon have another go. There was a lot of teeth chattering from both And chins up. It settled down a bit before bedtime but i was very nervous to leave them alone.

in between humping and aggression they seem to want to be together, they eat side by side and lie in close proximity and there’s plenty of bum sniffing and they will groom themselves when near the other piggie.

I found them this morning side by side although jasper looked on high alert.

jasper is still trying to hump midnight a lot and she is still rebuffing him but it looks less aggressive, just kicking sqeaking and pushing him out of way with her head, occasional nipping but not always. There can be quite a bit of chasing round the cage. They have lots of space and no hidey holes or corners, also got 2 of everything. not seen any lunging this morning.