Advice Needed For New Guinea Pig Owner!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarahjones81

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Advice would be very much appreciated as I'm new to guinea pigs and am having some teething problems.
So this is my second week of being the proud owner of two adults males. I wanted to rehome unwanted pets so bought my boys from Gumtree.
I am told they are no more than a year old, they have been well fed but have not had much interaction, as the previous owner (who bought them for her son who quickly lost interest) had rottweilers and so had to keep the guinea pigs in an upstairs room. They came in a rabbit 100 cage (1 meter) and have never been let out of the cage. They are still in this while I'm waiting for my c&c 6 2 cage to be delivered as I think the cage is far too small for them both.
Here's my problems
1. The biggest dominant guinea pig seems to stop the other from coming out for food, he doesn't bite him but chases him back in and makes the chattering noise. So the smaller one spends most of his time in the bedding area. They do cuddle up together so dont appear to hate each other but the larger is in control of when the smaller can eat. He comes out a lot while the smaller is rarely out.