Advice? Grieving & New Companion

SerenityMom

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Sorry this is so long........Hello this is my first time posting and looking for some advice. I recently lost a piggie that was one of 2 males (Bugsy). My other piggie (Clyde) doesn't seem to be missing him. Clyde is a bit over a year old and they were together since Clyde was a baby. They got along and didn't really fight but never seemed really close. I don't want him to be alone but am nervous about getting another male then having to separate them if the bonding doesn't work. He seems to be doing really good, activity and appetite both. Also, his personality is very outgoing, not aggressive but he is a bit pushy.

My husband was in the process of custom putting together a larger habitat when Bugsy passed. It has the capability of being one large home or divided into 2, 3 or 4 smaller homes with each being 12 square feet, using dividers. For a total of 48 square feet.

Also note I live in a very small town in the US and options are very limited for me. Meet and greets not an option. Basically once I commit to a piggie (or more) I am responsible, no trial.

My question is what the best option? Opinions?
1. Get a male and hope for the best?
2. Get a male baby and hope once puberty hits they still get along, if not then separate?
3. Separate the cage into sections and get some females where they can be neighbors but not together? 2 females? 3 females?

Since the habitat has so much versatility I feel overwhelmed by options. I want what is best for Clyde I just don't know what that is. Thank you for reading and any advice.

I’m sorry for your loss.

As you don’t have the option to date, then options 2 or 3 would be best.
Attempt a bonding with a younger piggy and hope it works out for the long term. Separating and living as neighbours if not.