5 month old baby boar still small

Angela99

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hello quick question… I have a 5 month old baby boar, Comet.. and he is still so small… he’s an American Guinea …pig see picture … Petsmart said he was 2.5 to 3 months when I got him
his brother is 6. I’m new to babies as Truffle s brother, Buttercup very sadly passed away a couple months ago 😞
and I adopted them at about a year old. When will Comet be almost full size? I give him unlimited young piggie pellets from oxbow right now as well. I separate it from his brother of course

Attachments

• 3D560B61-9A1E-4FB9-8D0F-D22F04CC9215.webp
    3D560B61-9A1E-4FB9-8D0F-D22F04CC9215.webp
    37.8 KB · Views: 41
Is he gaining weight at each weekly weight check? If so then that is the main thing. He will get to his full size in his own time.
I have two five year old piggies and two five month old piggies and my five month old boys do seem small compared to my older boys but they are gaining weight at each weekly check and are perfectly healthy.

Please don’t feed unlimited pellets to Comet, not even young piggy pellets. This will result in too much calcium and potential health issues. No piggy should ever have unlimited pellets, they do nor need them. You don’t want a piggy gaining weight on pellets because that won’t be healthy weight gain. He needs to gain weight well on hay And a balanced diet.
Please only feed unlimited hay, one full of veg per day and one tablespoon of pellets per day.

Is he gaining weight at each weekly weight check? If so then that is the main thing. He will get to his full size in his own time.
I have two five year old piggies and two five month old piggies and my five month old boys do seem small compared to my older boys but they are gaining weight at each weekly check and are perfectly healthy.